Sci-Fi Assets: The Definitive Release

Sci-Fi Assets: The Definitive Release

Oh man. I finally released all of my Sci-Fi stuff out to the world. Let’s take a look!

 

I decided to take the quickest approach – just pack all of it up in a zip and release everything. This is good because I don’t have to go through and package everything up nice and neat with a little bow on top, which was the main thing holding me back from releasing all of the stuff in the first place.

Sadly, this also means that there’s a lot of stuff in there that’s well below the level of ‘polished.’ Lots of broken maps and models, compatibility issues, missing textures, and it’s all way too big to put on the steam workshop, which cuts out the bulk of my fanbase. That said, this was really the only way I’d ever find the time to release all of it, and as a bonus, I included several source files and dmx scene files as a thank you for dealing with the lackluster format.

One thing I didn’t count on was the death of both my dropbox and onedrive for (just) image hosting – the thread has been getting way more traffic then anticipated. Dropbox is notorious for doing this, but I’ve never hit the limit for onedrive before, and those links are a pain to get. The only images left standing are those from this blog – so I’m going to try changing my standard operating procedure to upload release media here from now on.

With that in mind, here are the shots from this release that I’ve uploaded like three times now! It’s a mix of things I’ve posted here previously and things I’ve never put up publicly, randomly sorted, much like the release they’re attached to.

stratus_console 420_2013-03-24_00002 420_2013-04-28_00001 coldday fang gm_nograv_hall0008 lt_scifi_white0111 lt_scifi_white0122 lt_scifi_white0123 lt_scifi_white0125 lt_scifi_white0148 lt_zenobia0022 painting_final scifi_lobby_nolight scifi_wall_preview sfm_scifi_white_observation sfm_scifi_white_shuttlebay sfm_scifibox_2 ship_hammer ship_wip4 stratus_bridge workers nick_clean knife_peview_small zoey_newhair satellite_2 uav_holo_example cryo_corridor3 cryo_corridor2 cryo_corridor1 norad_desk gm_nograv_hall0001 zoey_pilot stratus_bridge_a shuttle_cubemaps guidon_pose guidon 40sw_pistol_a busymorning xeno_cargo airlock_ingame eyelids

Ha, still slipped some scifi stuff in here!

Coffee thermos with some fitting props.

desk_row_test2 uav_pilot_promo_small scifi_pilot3 zoey_pilot_2

freakin adorable. I animated it from 6:59 to 7:00 via skingroups and texture frame animation for the the colon.

steamworkshop_webupload_previewfile_284266415_preview holo_platform

Not sure what it is but it was baked.

zoey_newhair_2

Wow, that’s a lot of stuff, but it’s still not everything!

Here is a link to a text file with a full listing.

I currently have it up for download at two locations, Mega and SFMLab (Thanks to Ganonmaster for working with me to get it uploaded). It’s 880 MB compressed, but it unpacks as a 4GB SFM directory, complete with a gameinfo.txt. If you’re on FacePunch, you can comment on it here.

I’d like to take a moment to thank a few people that made this possible – Adam Palmer, PhillipK, Nirrti, Taggart, Bloocobalt, Wraithcat, W0rf0x, Kali, Rusty, Squiddy, fury_161, and Nigbone. There are a host of other authors that helped along the way, but these guys helped make this what it is – the best work is never done by one person. I’d also like to thank the G-Mod screenshot community and the Non-TF2 SFM community for their support and use of the content!

If you’ve never been on this blog before, pretty much every article preceding this one talks about the technical aspects of authoring this kind of content – if you make stuff like this or are just plain curious, I would give you my highly biased recommendation to do browse!

2 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Assets: The Definitive Release

  1. Wow, this is really REALLY nice, I don’t usually give praise but this is something that is worthy of recognition. Finally something i can use to generate sci-fi, Freespace, future images in SFM.
    10/10

  2. Hello, Ben

    After you released the Sci-Fi assets since 26 August 2015, my heart fell down with happiness. Appreciate it and thank you so much for hard work. Now I’m proud of you! So I’m moving models, maps and assets to Garry’s Mod and/or Source Filmmaker. And I’m making screenshots and/or images. Or I’m making the scenes for movie before posting video to YouTube

    Have a nice day,
    Szymon Semler.

Leave a Reply

